Amigurumi Sunflower

I like sunflowers.

I like how they turn their bright faces, always, to the light. How they grow wild in the hills that surround my home. I like how they push their thick, fat stalks through the cracked earth, how they scale and weaken the fences meant to protect the manicured lawns from the roaming coyotes that chatter in the night.

I like the memories they conjure. A girl giggling in the back seat of her best friend’s mother’s car, turning to watch the dust fly and swirl behind them. Smiling faces cast aglow by the setting sun. Stopping the car to pluck wild sunflowers from bushes that tower overhead and spitting on the soil to repay the earth. Saliva for beauty twirled in delicate fingers and tucked behind newly pierced ears.

Such shining optimism.

I want this for myself. I want to be wild and fierce in my pursuit of the light. To make beauty of life’s hard, cracked earth. To reflect the goodness that can be found in even the starkest places.

IMG_20170515_184617_165

+ + + + +

This amigurumi sunflower was made freehand with Sugar ‘n Cream cotton yarn and a US 7/4.5mm crochet hook.

Want to see more of my work? Find me on Instagram: @acassafrass or on Etsy: etsy.com/shop/lascosaschiquitas

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tami says:

    Beautiful story, adorable sunflower – thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

