Amigurumi Unicorn

There is magic in this world. Perhaps not in the turning of the appropriate card, the flick of a phoenix-core wand, the transfiguration of frog to prince. But certainly there is magic in a change of heart; the frightened soul made brave by kindness.

Not ancient text pulled from a grimoire, not prayer to a long-dead deity, but simple kind words, spoken casually from loved-ones, repeated as needed, “You can do it. You will do it. I will be here when you return.”

It makes all the difference, this knowing. It guides frightened children through the first days of school, young men through war. And it guides me. I have long since received my degrees, been spared our country’s wars. But still it guides me, and still I need it, if only to find my way through this not-so-enchanted life.

You can do it. You will do it. I will be here when you return.

Repeat as needed. Ask for these words when you are frightened. From every soul you love. There is magic in their repetition. Fear turned to fortitude. Despair to daring.

You can do it. You will do it. I will be here when you return.

IMG_20170610_195909_785

+ + + + +

This amigurumi unicorn was made with minor alterations from Ilaria Caliri’s Amigurumi Unicorn Pattern, which can be found in Issue 54 of Simply Crochet. Find more of her work at airalidesign.com.

Want to see more of my work? Find me on Instagram: @acassafrass or on Etsy: etsy.com/shop/lascosaschiquitas.

Leave a Reply

